The Haphazard Blog

Why Is There Fish in Bleu Cheese Dressing?

by on February 14, 2010 8:07 PM, under Dining, Entertainment

Yesterday we went to Wichita to get some shopping taken care of and decided to stop at Souper Salad for a quick lunch. They are a pretty good place for vegetarians and vegans. They will mark what is vegetarian (not that what they say is vegetarian is actually lacto-ovo vegetarian) and vegan. I noticed the oddest thing. Bleu cheese dressing was not marked as vegetarian. Some other dressings I’d assume to be were also non-vegetarian. So I tried to find out why and found a nutritional guide on their web site. Here’s what it says:

  • Honey Mustard – Contains Eggs, Contains Other Animal (they do not specify what)
  • Fat Free Cranberry – Contains Other Animal
  • Caesar – Contains Eggs, Contains Finfish
  • Bleu Cheese – Contains Eggs, Contains Finfish
  • Chipotle Ranch – Contains Eggs, Contains Finfish

I wondered if “Other Animal Product” is honey, but they mark stuff with eggs in it as vegetarian. ¬†Why in the world is there fish in Bleu Cheese dressing? I checked the dressing in my refrigerator and it doesn’t have anything listed that could be remotely considered fish. Is this an aberration or one of those items specially made for the restaurant industry like Extra Heavy Mayonnaise. I think I’m going to stick with fat-free Italian dressing. It’s better for me anyways.

:, , ,

Leave a Reply